A Very Belated Pi Day or Why Do Bad Things Happen

So, I missed Pi Day. I mean, I blogged on Pi day, but I never acknowledged it. I didn’t even realize until about midnight when I was dating food at work. So… no pi, no pie. Percy and I decided the next day that we should just have a Life of Pi party to make up for it, since I haven’t seen the film yet and it’s one of my favorite books. Percy and I are always talking about books, leaving poor Noah out of things. So he’s decided to start reading, and we hooked him up with Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files series.

Last week we went in to Fayetteville to post flyers for a different webseries which Percy and Noah are working on. (But they’re interested in having me guest write a script! Yay!) it was great fun. We ate at a self-serve stir-fry place and introduced Noah to frozen yogurt. And we walked around the city and campus and went to Hastings, and it just felt like Albuquerque again, and for a day everything felt right, like I’d finally found my place. But alas, there is the title of this post to contend with…

Last week, we passed a tree in Fayetteville, a magnolia tree, I believe, which had nostalgia because my grandmother used to have one, but also was a great climbing tree. And we decided that we should have a write-in there. And thus our unofficial Friday outings became official: Ficticious Friday! I fell asleep in contentment (and woke up the next day for hell on wheels at Subway, due to the parade in town.)

A week passed, during which several things happened. I finished another week’s homework assignment. The teacher I’m working with suggested I make a lesson for her students out of one of the stories in my Lithuanian/English fairytale book. I decided my daily writing goal should be (a) two pages of novel or (b) ten pages of script. And each day I succeed, I get points toward a prize of some sort. Each day I fail, the prize point price goes up. I talked to my mom about the possibility of travelling by bus or train to OWFI in May. And I finally finished episode 1 of Stix, which it is tentatively called. Now we just need a way of making the title fit.

Today, Noah, Percy, and I met again for our second official Ficticious Friday. We went to the Tea Room in Eureka, and I dressed “posh” because… Well, because tea room. And who doesn’t want an excuse to dress up, even when it’s snowy and freezing? The Tea Room was lovely. There was oreo cake. And probably the best tea I have ever had. Then we decided to go to the library for a write-in.

Now, if you haven’t been to Eureka Springs, there’s a couple things you should know. It is filled with hills and crooked narrow streets. Spring Street, the main street, which the library is on, has many a curve and is barely wide enough to fit three cars, which doesn’t sound like a big deal, except that there are very few parking lots in Eureka Springs. Most of the time, we have to parallel park. I hate parallel parking, especially when the roads are not straight.

Now it being cold, we wanted to be outside as little as possible, but the only open space near the library was one I had had to back into (unless I turned around, which would have been a hassle). Percy got out to direct me, so I didn’t hit the car. She did a good job on that part. I didn’t hit the car. I hit her instead. Granted, I could not have been going very fast, and I was already breaking, but hitting a car is never fun, and I drive a hulking minivan, so she has a lot of pain in her knee. The good news is, she is not unconcious. The bad news is, I’m not sure she can walk. And thus, after her mom picked her up and after lots of awkward hugs from Noah (I cried for like half an hour after Percy’s mom picked her up), I drove home asking God why bad things happen.

I’m not particularly religious, in fact, I like to think of myself as being like Newton Pulsifer, from Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman’s Good Omens, one of my favorite books. Newt doesn’t really have the faith to follow any religion, nor does he have the necessary lack of faith not to. I am perhaps, not so much agnostic as apatheistic. But when the going gets tough, I still turn to God for help. I don’t know if it’s the Christian God or someone else’s, but it’s good to have someone to turn to, and I kind of feel like I need to go to church and ask atone. Maybe it’s that I just read such a scene in Kushiel’s Dart by Jacqualine Carey. I don’t even know what it is I’m worried about exactly, whether it’s whether Percy’s okay, or how much I’m going to have to pay to cover her medical expenses, or how much the insurance will go up if I file a claim or how pissed her mother will be mad at me and if she will let me see Percy again or if this is going to somehow screw my chances of getting to OWFI. I just know I feel jumbled and my high from last week plumeted as fast as the falling temperature.

But, I guess, as Penny says in Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog, “Everything happens.”

Leave a Reply

