The Post Birthday Post

Have I mentioned how much I love Peter Pan? I love Peter Pan so much that I recently started watching Once Upon a Time just because Captain Hook shows up in season two. This is why it was such a big deal last year when I told my mom I love Patrick Rothfuss as much as I love Barrie. This is more than really liking a book. This is obsession, the kind of thing that happens once a decade. So imagine my surprise when I picked up N. K. Jemisin’s The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms and promptly became just as obsessed.

Granted, there was some lead up to this. It began with my fantasy pin-up calendar, which I bought through Rothfuss’s Worldbuilders charity. When I opened the September picture, My draw dropped. Lee Moyer is a good artist, and all of the pictures are beautiful, but his drawing of Oree from Jemisin’s The Broken Kingdoms (the second book in the same series) is absolutely gorgeous. And being my birth month, it’s extra exciting that September’s picture is the best (in my opinion). Ad I love the way he drew the calendar too. It was fitting for my personality. I wish all my calendars looked like that. Then, going through the ays, I find Nora Jemisin’s birthday marked the day after mine. (Hence the pst birthday post). Then when I picked up the book, her words tried to explode my head more than once per chapter, and that’s before all the commentary about gender and racial relations in our society. So I started reading her blog. And Nora Jemisin just got more awesome. She’s all about standing up for the rights of women and people of color and she’s feisty and beautiful and I really want to meet her!

Anyway, point being, my feelings for Nora Jemisin are as strong as those for James Barrie, and in honor of that, happy (belated) birthday N. K. Jemisin!

Leave a Reply

