Dixit Writing Challenge Day 6 & 7: Sibling Rivarly

So, yesterday’s card had a couple playing chess with each other. My favorite part of this card is that their table and chairs are on black and white tile floor, like a chess board. But yesterday, I was busy looking into the possibility of getting a new car, so I didn’t get much time to do a free-write on it. Fortunately, today’s card has a stack of books and a fairy, and games and books have been themes in a poem I’ve been working on for a while, so I went straight to that. This is not anywhere close to done, and I don’t know where it’s going. But there are several parts I like:

Sibling Rivalry
It started with the Tube Game. The Tube Game is the ultimate mashup of all role playing fanfiction geekery in the universe. Each of us would transform into one character from any story ever written or ever to be written, and like MArio, would drop down a magic tube into some alternate reality: Middle Earth, Tortall, New York City. Any book was game. It never mattered that at seven years old, I hadn’t heard of orcs, or that, though three years older than me, you hadn’t witnessed the razor sharp wings of stormwings, they came for both of us, as did teachers on their way to work, pausing to laugh the bus stop avengers.

After you graduated to middle school, I tried to teach our game to others, but it turns out, our rules were not as black and white as a chess board. When others tried to dictate how many spaces we could move in which direction, we turned your bed into the Adventure, and together tossed the rulebook overboard.

The truth is, I wrote this for the same reason I read Dune. Because I have no way to thank you. You don’t accept hugs or handshakes, and you probably don’t accept poems, but if you remember any of this as well as I do, maybe I don’t need to. I still haven’t figured out how to explain to my friends that when the two of us say “Happy Hogswatch,” it carries more weight than every utterance ever of “as you wish,” but I don’t have to explain anything to you. Because we’ve been saving each other’s lives from the beginning.

aanndd lots of run-on sentences. Ookkaayy…

Leave a Reply

